Artwork Ross Trophy 2020: Leaders in 2019-20 NHL points-scoring race, earlier winners, historical past

The Artwork Ross Trophy was just about determined because the NHL’s 2019-20 season wound down.

Edmonton Oilers ahead Leon Draisaitl was working away within the points-scoring race with 110 factors in 71 video games. Whereas he was held scoreless within the final three video games earlier than the season was paused, the German heart had 13 factors within the Oilers’ final 10 video games — together with 5 factors (4 objectives, help) in opposition to the Predators on March 2.

Now there is a robust probability the common season won’t play out as talks have reportedly centered round heading to a 20-24 staff postseason resumption.

So the place does all the pieces stand if the common season is formally executed? To date, there’s been no phrase as to how issues will unfold. However till then, here is all the pieces it’s essential know on the celebrated trophy.

What’s the Artwork Ross Trophy?

Because the 1947-48 season, the Artwork Ross Trophy is given to the participant that leads the league in factors on the finish of the common season.

Awarded 70 instances, trophy winners embody a who’s who of hockey’s elite; Gordie Howe, Stan Mikita, Phil Esposito, Man Lafleur, Jarome Iginla, Sidney Crosby and Connor McDavid are among the many present and future Corridor of Famers who’ve gained the award.

MORE: 2019-20 Rocket Richard Trophy race

Who’re the 2020 main candidates?

The Oilers’ Leon Draisaitl was dominating in 2019-20 and was on tempo for 127 factors earlier than the season was paused. He completed the 2018-19 season in fourth with 105 factors (50 objectives, 50 assists), trailing Nikita Kucherov (128), teammate Connor McDavid (116) and Patrick Kane (110).

Edmonton OilersLeon Draisaitl71110127
Edmonton OilersConnor McDavid6497114
New York RangersArtemiy Panarin6995112
Boston BruinsDavid Pastrnak7095111
Colorado AvalancheNathan MacKinnon6993109
Boston BruinsBrad Marchand7087102
Tampa Bay LightningNikita Kucherov6885100
Chicago BlackhawksPatrick Kane708498
Toronto Maple LeafsAuston Matthews708094
Buffalo SabresJack Eichel687893
Florida PanthersJonathan Huberdeau697893

Who has gained probably the most Artwork Ross Trophies?

The NHL’s all-time main scorer, Wayne Gretzky, has additionally gained the award a report 10 instances — together with seven consecutive seasons from 1980-81 to 1986-87. In reality, from 1981 to 2001, solely the identify Gretzky, Mario Lemieux or Jaromir Jagr gained the award.

Gretzky additionally holds the report for many factors in a single season with 215 (52 objectives, 163 assists), which he netted in the course of the 1985-86 season.

Wayne Gretzky10
Gordie Howe6
Mario Lemieux6
Phil Esposito5
Jaromir Jagr5
Stan Mikita4

GRETZKY: By the numbers | His final recreation

Who has gained the Artwork Ross Trophy?

Tampa Bay Lightning ahead Nikita Kucherov is the reigning Artwork Ross Trophy winner. His 128 factors final season had been probably the most all-time in a single season by a Russian-born participant. Alexander Mogilny held the earlier report of 127 in 1992-93; nevertheless, he misplaced the Artwork Ross Trophy to Lemieux’s 161 factors.

Final 10 Artwork Ross Trophy winners

2018-19Tampa Bay LightningNikita Kucherov128
2017-18Edmonton OilersConnor McDavid108
2016-17Edmonton OilersConnor McDavid100
2015-16Chicago BlackhawksPatrick Kane106
2014-15Dallas StarsJamie Benn87
2013-14Pittsburgh PenguinsSidney Crosby104
2012-13Tampa Bay LightningMartin St. Louis60
2011-12Pittsburgh PenguinsEvgeni Malkin109
2010-11Vancouver CanucksDaniel Sedin104
2009-10Vancouver CanucksHenrik Sedin112

Source link

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *