Babylon 5 (Season 2) DVD Review

Nominated for 6 Emmys and 3 Hugo Awards in its five-season run, Babylon 5 changed the landscape of the TV science fiction series genre. Following on the heels of hit series such as Star Trek and Star Trek: The Next Generation, Babylon 5 is unrivaled by any of its peers in its application of special effects. The brainchild of J. Michael Straczynski (writer for such shows as Murder She Wrote and Walker, Texas Ranger), the hour-long sci-fi drama series breaks new ground by deploying a five-season storyline that follows the outline of a traditional novel. As such, Babylon 5 is more like a mini-series that lasts five years instead of the usual three to five nights. And also unlike its predecessors, the series showcases original advanced technologies, believable alien characters (who speak alien and not English), and boasts of superb costume and makeup. Premiering in mid-season 1994, Babylon 5 established a solid audience and continues to inspire new generations of fans via syndicated reruns on cable…

The Babylon 5 (Season 2) DVD features a number of exciting episodes including the season premiere “Points of Departure” in which the hierarchy of the Babylon 5 crew is significantly shuffled when Commander Sinclair is replaced by Capt. John J. Sheridan. Immediately, the new commander is tasked with reigning in a renegade Mimbari ship that threatens the safety of the Babylon 5 constituents… Other notable episodes from Season 2 include “Soul Mates” in which Londo calls his three wives to Babylon 5 where he divorces two of them, and “In the Shadow of Z’ha’dum” in which Capt. Sheridan is shocked to encounter a living crew member of the ship which exploded with his wife onboard, providing him a glimmer of hope that she may yet be alive…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Babylon 5 (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 23 (Points of Departure) Air Date: 11-02-1994

Episode 24 (Revelations) Air Date: 11-09-1994

Episode 25 (The Geometry of Shadows) Air Date: 11-16-1994

Episode 26 (A Distant Star) Air Date: 11-23-1994

Episode 27 (The Long Dark) Air Date: 11-30-1994

Episode 28 (Spider in the Web) Air Date: 12-07-1994

Episode 29 (Soul Mates) Air Date: 12-14-1994

Episode 30 (A Race Through Dark Places) Air Date: 01-26-1995

Episode 31 (The Coming of Shadows) Air Date: 02-02-1995

Episode 32 (GROPOS) Air Date: 02-09-1995

Episode 33 (All Alone in the Night) Air Date: 02-16-1995

Episode 34 (Acts of Sacrifice) Air Date: 02-23-1995

Episode 35 (Hunter, Prey) Air Date: 03-02-1995

Episode 36 (There All the Honor Lies) Air Date: 04-27-1995

Episode 37 (And Now for a Word) Air Date: 05-04-1995

Episode 38 (In the Shadow of Z’ha’dum) Air Date: 05-11-1995

Episode 39 (Knives) Air Date: 05-18-1995

Episode 40 (Confessions and Lamentations) Air Date: 05-25-1995

Episode 41 (Divided Loyalties) Air Date: 10-12-1995

Episode 42 (The Long, Twilight Struggle) Air Date: 10-19-1995

Episode 43 (Comes the Inquisitor) Air Date: 10-26-1995

Episode 44 (The Fall of Night) Air Date: 11-02-1995

Source by Britt Gillette

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *