Barcelona inflict Arsenal ache, Ferguson wins first of many United trophies


Modified 17 Could 2020, 11:32 IST

Barcelona - Cropped
Barcelona rejoice towards Arsenal within the 2006 Champions League last

Could 17 is a momentous sporting date that Arsenal followers is not going to bear in mind fondly.

Fourteen years in the past on at the present time, the Gunners misplaced the Champions League last towards Barcelona in Paris.

This date additionally represents the 30-year anniversary of a well-known day within the historical past of Manchester United, who received the primary trophy of Alex Ferguson’s period as supervisor.

Right here we glance again at a few of the prime moments to happen on Could 17 on this planet of sport.

2006 – Arsenal rue Barcelona comeback

Arsenal had been inside 15 minutes of profitable their first Champions League on at the present time in 2006, once they finally suffered a painful defeat to Barcelona on the Stade de France.

Remarkably, regardless of having goalkeeper Jens Lehmann despatched off after solely 18 minutes, a Sol Campbell header put the Gunners forward, a lead they nonetheless held coming into the 76th minute as their followers dreamed of glory.

A star-studded Barca group which included Samuel Eto’o, Ronaldinho and Deco had not discovered a manner by means of, but it surely was substitute Henrik Larsson who turned the sport.

Man of the match Eto’o scored the equaliser and the inspirational Larsson arrange an unlikely scorer for the winner 10 minutes from time, full-back Juliano Belletti. 

Thierry Henry had missed an opportunity to place the Gunners two objectives up and a yr later he would find yourself becoming a member of Barca, happening to assist them to win the 2009 Champions League together with Eto’o and Lionel Messi.

Arsenal haven’t made it again to the ultimate since – they crashed out within the Champions League knockout phases for 11 consecutive seasons after this loss, their finest effort being a run to the 2009 semi-finals.

They’ve spent the previous three seasons within the Europa League, whereas Barca constructed on their 2009 success with additional victories in 2011 and 2015, transferring them on to 5 general.

1990 – First of many United trophies for Ferguson

In a powerful period of success, Ferguson led Manchester United to 28 main trophies, together with 13 Premier League titles previous to his retirement in 2013.

The opening years of his tenure had been much less wonderful, although, and the membership’s first trophy was an important second to launch a spectacular run of silverware lasting over twenty years.

It was the FA Cup in 1990 the place Ferguson earned his first triumph.

A dramatic extra-time equaliser from Mark Hughes earned United a 3-Three draw towards Crystal Palace within the first match at Wembley, and in these days that meant a reply slightly than a penalty shoot-out.

The return recreation 5 days later, which got here on Could 17, was much less thrilling, however Lee Martin’s objective within the 59th minute was sufficient to present Ferguson’s males a 1-Zero victory.

After that first trophy in 4 years, a win within the European Cup Winners’ Cup adopted the subsequent season, and United by no means regarded again.

2019 – Koepka makes main historical past on the US PGA

Brooks Koepka was already a sensation at golf majors earlier than his magnificent efficiency on the US PGA Championship on at the present time a yr in the past.

He already had three main titles and 9 finishes inside the highest 10 over a five-year span earlier than he took issues to a complete new degree on the notoriously tough Bethpage Black course in New York.

Whereas {golfing} legend Tiger Woods was lacking the minimize, Koepka stormed right into a seven-shot lead after the primary two rounds.

His rounds of 63 and 65 gave him the bottom 36-hole whole rating within the 159-year historical past {of professional} main championship play.

Koepka slowed in his following rounds, with efforts of 70 and 74, however he was nonetheless topped champion by two photographs over Dustin Johnson because of his extraordinary scoring throughout the opening two days.

Source link

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *