Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2019? Full voting results, stats, list of award winners

The 2019 Heisman Trophy presentation was an exclusive, star-studded affair in New York.

All the players in attendance at Saturday’s presentation will play in the 2019 College Football Playoff: LSU quarterback Joe Burrow, Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts, Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields and Ohio State defensive end Chase Young. Each had transcendent seasons at their respective positions, enough so to earn finalist status for the most famous individual award in sports.

MORE: 10 biggest Heisman misses of all time

Burrow completed 342 of 439 passes (77.9 percent) for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns to six interceptions, and he added 289 yards and three scores on the ground. Hurts completed 222 of 309 passes (71.8 percent) for 3,634 yards and 32 touchdowns to eight interceptions, to go with 1,255 rushing yards and 18 rushing touchdowns. Fields completed 208 of 308 passes (67.5 percent) for 2,953 yards and 40 touchdowns to just one interception, adding 471 yards and 10 scores on the ground. Young compiled 44 tackles, 21 tackles for loss and a nation-leading 16.5 sacks and seven forced fumbles despite being suspended two games.

That said, only one was good enough to bring home the 2019 Heisman Trophy:

Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2019?

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow won the 2019 Heisman Trophy, becoming only the second LSU player ever to win the prestigious award (after halfback Billy Cannon in 1959).

Burrow was the odds-on favorite throughout most of the second half of the season, a status he helped cement with outstanding performances against Alabama and Georgia. He completed 59 of 77 passes for 772 yards and seven touchdowns combined against the Crimson Tide and Bulldogs.

He became the first SEC player to throw for at least 40 touchdowns and 4,000 yards in a season; he also eclipsed the single-season passing yards mark and tied the single-season touchdown record at 44 (not including the SEC championship game).

During his acceptance speech, Burrow fought back tears as he thanked LSU coach Ed Orgeron, who named the Ohio State graduate transfer the Tigers’ starter in 2018:

MORE: 13 best players to never win Heisman

Heisman voting results 2019

FinishPlayerPos.SchoolTotal points1st2nd3rd
1.Joe BurrowQBLSU2,608841413
2.Jalen HurtsQBOklahoma76212231264
3.Chase YoungDEOhio State7476271187
4.Justin FieldsQBOhio State64320205173

Heisman Trophy voting consists of 870 media votes, 57 prior Heisman votes and one vote from the fans.

College football award winners 2019

  • Heisman Trophy (outstanding player of the year): Joe Burrow, QB, LSU
  • Maxwell Award (player of the year): Joe Burrow, QB, LSU
  • Davey O’Brien Award (best QB): Joe Burrow, LSU
  • Doak Walker Award (best RB): Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin
  • Fred Biletnikoff Award (best WR): Ja’Marr Chase, LSU
  • John Mackey Award (best TE): Harrison Bryant, FAU
  • Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Chase Young, Ohio State
  • Butkus Award (best linebacker): Isaiah Simmons, Clemson
  • Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back): Grant Delpit, LSU
  • Rimington Trophy (best center): Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin
  • Outland Trophy (best interior offensive lineman): Penei Sewell, Oregon
  • Lou Groza Award (best kicker): Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
  • Ray Guy Award (best punter): Max Duffy, Kentucky

Source link

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *